Minecraft Color Codes

Bad Omens

Color Codes Quick Guide

Minecraft color codes allow for formatting parameters within the game chat to display text with a specified color or formatting option such as bold, italic, strikethrough, underlines and obfuscation. These codes can be accessed by using the § symbol along with a special character for the desired effect. It also supports a reset code to allow for use of multiple types of formatting within a single message. See usage examples section at the bottom of the page for more info. This is extremely helpful for players running servers to display messages through chat with formatting that will be more easily readable to players. However anyone is able to use these formats within any Minecraft game or server as long as the administrator doesn’t have them disabled.

Color Chat Code MOTD Code Decimal Hexadecimal
Dark Red (dark_red)
Red (red)
Gold (gold)
Yellow (yellow)
Dark Green (dark_green)
Green (green)
Aqua (aqua)
Dark Aqua (dark_aqua)
Dark Blue (dark_blue)
Blue (blue)
Light Purple (light_purple)
Dark Purple (dark_purple)
White (white)
Gray (gray)
Dark Gray (dark_gray)
Black (black)
Obfuscated
Bold
Strikethrough
Underline
Italic
Reset
Extra Line

 

Usage Examples

In case you’re still unsure of how to use these codes within your own game, let’s take a look at some examples to give you a practical idea of how to use these codes.

Look Ma, I’m using formatting codes!

§c§lLook Ma§1, I'm using §nformatting codes!

I can make my text appear on
another line.

§5I can make my text appear on \n§2another line.

A little bit of everything!

§d§nA §b§olittle §6§lbit §r§4of everything!